top of page

Watch “Super Gay” Queerties Awards Show Wednesday, March 16

Updated: Mar 20, 2022

Bianca Del Rio and MoHeart - photo by Nareth Chuon.

Update: The Queerties aired on March 16. Watch the full awards show.

The 10th annual Queerties Award show celebrating LGBTQ entertainment and pop culture premieres Wednesday at 9 pm on Revry and YouTube.

On Wednesday, March 16, the Queerties 10th anniversary award show will begin streaming on Revry and YouTube at 9 pm ET – the first time in its history that the fully-produced live show ceremony will be viewable on national TV. The Queerties are produced by the LGBTQ media outlet Queerty. The ceremony is designed to uplift and spotlight LGBTQ creators, tastemakers, and storytellers who are not often recognized at other award shows. This year’s event honors Pose’s Michaela Jaé Rodriguez with the Icon Award and RuPaul’s Drag Race season 13 winner Gottmik with the Groundbreaker Award.

The Queerties is a celebration of the moments in entertainment and pop culture that defined the past year in the Queer community. “We’re like the People’s Choice awards, but super gay, and with way more drag queens,” says Dan Tracer, Queerty’s Editor in Chief who co-hosts The Queerties award show.

Queerty decided to televise this year’s ceremony after the success of last year’s virtual event. “While we were thrilled to be able to return to an in-person celebration for The Queerties 10th anniversary award show, with a fully vaccinated and tested crowd, we wanted viewers at home to join the party as well,” explained Scott Gatz of Q.Digital, the parent company of Queerty. The Queerties will air on Revry, America’s first LGBTQ streaming network, and the show will also stream on and Queerty’s YouTube and Facebook channels.

Celebrities appearing at The Queerties award show include Murray Bartlett of White Lotus, Robin De Jesus of Tick Tick Boom, Amy Schneider from Jeopardy!, Ryan O’Connell of Special and Queer as Folk, Aubrey Peeples of Nashville, and a bevy of RuPaul’s Drag Race favorites including Season 6 winner Bianca Del Rio.

Queerties nominees were selected by the editorial team of Queerty and winners were then voted on by Queerty readers. Queerty received over 1.4 million votes for categories ranging from the “Badass” award, honoring the top LGBTQ newsmakers, to “Closet Door Bustdown”, recognizing brave notables who shook up mainstream America with their coming out stories. “When folks are out and proud, and making waves in the world, we think it’s important to honor that,” Tracer stated.

Wednesday’s award show is planned to be packed with comedy, fashion, and over-the-top looks and fierce styles. Yet, while the award show will be filled with glamour, Scott Gatz emphasized that there is also a serious side to the Queerties award show: “A large reason for this event is to shine a light on independent LGBTQ artists.” Gatz added that “whether they are creating indie music videos, web series, YouTube content, TikToks, or posting on Instagram, the Queerties strives to honor creatives who are making content, with or without the support of a brand or a studio.”

“We have so much to celebrate this year,” Dan Tracer stated. “The LGBTQ community made significant strides in pop culture that will have a lasting impact on the next generation of Queer youth.” He points to Queerties Icon Award Michaela Jaé Rodriguez, a transwoman of color who made history this year as the first trans actor to win a Golden Globe, and the first trans woman to earn an Emmy nomination in a lead acting category; both for her work on Pose.

In her Queerties acceptance speech, Rodriguez reflects on her career accomplishments and the legacy she hopes to leave. “All I wanted to do was inspire the youth. To encourage them to dare to be who (they) are and never be afraid of what anyone says. Instead, challenge them to be more open and understanding of the people that we are, which is fabulous.”

The Queerties 10th Anniversary award show will begin streaming on this Wednesday, March 16 at 9 pm ET/6 pm PT. Readers can get more information and the complete list of Queerties winners here.


bottom of page